National Championships


Gary Colberg hosted the first national tournament for men in 1985 at UC Davis.  From 1985 until 1999, the tournament was hosted at different college campuses.  With the constant growth of college club teams, the event moved to convention centers in 2000, and expanded to include a women’s division.  Since then, the women’s side has exploded with teams, which led to the creation of different divisions to accomodate different levels of play.  In their brief history compared to the men, the California women have welcomed 7 national champions and 3 runner-ups.

Division 1 (D1) is open to all universities, and in recent years only has been open to nationally ranked teams, top performing league teams, and teams performing well at tournaments.  Cal Poly won 2 D1 titles in a row in 2011 and 2010, and finished in second place in 2012.  UCSB brought home a title in 2009 and Santa Clara finished as runner-up in 2010.

Division 1AA (D1AA) and 1AAA (D1AAA) are for large universities who performed well in league and tournament play, but did not qualify for D1.  Chico St. earned a national championship in 2008 while Nevada-Reno finished in second place in 2011.

In 2014, Division 2 (D2) was reclassified as a division that focuses on small universities with enrollment under a predetermined number of students.  Prior to this classification, D2 was a special division for schools with a second or third team from the same university, and also operated as an overflow division for teams that could not fit into one of the other divisions.  USC won a title in 2004.  Division 3 (D3) was added in 2014 for schools with a second or third team from the same university.  Cal Poly II won titles in 2014 and 2015.

Below is a recap based on division of those teams that have brought home a national title or a second place finish.


  • 2015: Cal Poly II (D3)
  • 2014: Cal Poly II (D3)
  • 2011: Cal Poly (D1)
  • 2011: Chico St. (D1AA)
  • 2010: Cal Poly (D1)
  • 2009: UCSB (D1)
  • 2004: USC (D2)
  • 2012: Cal Poly (D1)
  • 2012: Nevada-Reno (D1AA)
  • 2010:  Santa Clara (D1)

© California Collegiate Volleyball Conference, Inc.

Disclaimer: All information provided on the California Collegiate Volleyball Conference’s (CCVC) web site is provided for information purposes only. Although every reasonable effort is made to present current and accurate information, CCVC makes no guarantees of any kind and cannot be held liable for any outdated or incorrect information. CCVC’s web site may contain information created and maintained by a variety of external sources, organizations, associations, or information providers. CCVC does not control, monitor or guarantee the accuracy of the information contained from these external sites and sources, and does not necessarily endorse any views expressed or products or services that may be offered therein. In no event should CCVC be responsible or liable directly or indirectly for any damage or loss caused or alleged to be caused by or in connection with the use of or reliance on any such information available on or through any such site or resource. Any information to external web sites linked to CCVC’s web site or other entities not associated with CCVC are provided as a courtesy. They should not be construed as an endorsement by CCVC of the content or views of the linked materials. All rights reserved. Contents on CCVC’s web site may not be reproduced in whole or in part without written permission of CCVC.

Powered by Warp Theme Framework